• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Apricot Beer Help

Beeratopia

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am going to be making a Apricot beer this weekend. I am trying to figure out when the best time to add the apricot puree to the batch. I have heard some people say put it into the primary some have said put into the secondary, or I have even heard put it in before bottling. I could use some input from someone that has some experience in the subject.

Don't know exactly as I've never done an apricot beer before. But, I've added a fair number of different things to beer and I often add them in secondary for best results.

I usually make a puree (if possible) of whatever I'm going to add and heat that to pasteurize it (180ºF for about 10 minutes). Dump that in the carboy and rack the beer on top of it. Seven days is usually a good time to let it sit on that and then sample to see where you're at.

I made an apricott rye last fall, and it was well recieved.  If you have bought your puree from a brewing supply store, adding it directly to your primary is the way to go.  However if its store bought puree, you may want to microway the puree first before you add it to your primary.  Most fruit producing plants process many items thru the same machines with minimal cleanings.  Microwaving the puree will kill any bacteria.