• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Help for Tangerine Cream Ale

itmantpc

Apprentice
Reaction score
This is my first recipe and I am new to home brewing. Please forgive me if it sounds/reads like I have no idea what I am doing, it is partially true!

I am looking to create a tangerine cream ale, it has to be low in bitterness but have a tropical aroma with a decent tangerine flavor. I have not begun brewing this recipe yet as I am trying to get a well rounded recipe to lower mistakes. Well, here it is and what are your thoughts?

This is an extract brew.

Grains:
1 lbs Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 9.1 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 2 9.1 %
5 lbs Extra Light Dry Extract (3.0 SRM)
1 lbs Honey (1.0 SRM) Sugar 9 9.1 %
3 lbs Fruit - Tangerine (0.0 SRM) Adjunct Crushed.
2oz Tangerine Zest (from tangerines)

Hops:
1.00 oz Galaxy [14.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 5 17.0 IBUs
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 6 5.7 IBUs

Dry-Hop:
1.00 oz Galaxy [14.00 %] - Dry Hop 10.0 Days Hop 10 0.0 IBUs

Misc:
1.00 Items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 mins) Fining 4 -

Yeast:
1.0 pkg English Ale (White Labs #WLP002) [35.49 ml] Yeast 7 -

The plan: Heat 1 gallon of water to 165 and steep cara-pils and crystal for 20 minutes. Heat 5 gallons of water to boiling. Add steeped 1 gal of water and 5 lbs of DME and 2oz tangerine zest. At 45 add whirlfloc. At 50 minutes, add Galaxy. At 55 add Amarillo. At flame off, cool wort to 65.

Ferment for 2 weeks and 3 days @ 65ish degrees. Add dry-hop around day 7 and let dry hop for 10 days.

Second Fermentation.
Peel tangerines and crush. Pour liquid and crushed fruit into second fermenter. Add honey to fermenter. Rack beer from primary over fruit and honey. Ferment for 2 weeks.

Many thanks from a noob home brewer!