• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Wanting to brew a mild cream ale brew

grayeagle

Apprentice
Reaction score
Don’t know if this is the right place to post this or not but here goes.  I am new to all grain brewing.  I am wanting to do a miller light clone or something that is not bitter or very hoppy.  I have a cream ale recipe I have been working on for some time now but the IBU is 28, Miller light according to the web is around 10 .  I know that most home brewers like a lot of bitterness and hop flavor in their beer so a 28 would be a mild beer.  I want to brew a beer that me and my wife can drink together.  Most of the recipe on the web that I want to use are in the twenties.  So I don't know if 28 would be good for me or not.  I know that the hops put in at the start of the boil is what makes the beer bitter and the kind of hops.  This recipe calls for 1 oz of cluster.  Can I cut the hops down a great deal and get good results?  If so how much should I cut it down?  Thanks for all your help.

Grayeagle

Welcome to the addiction grayeagle!
Here is fine, sometimes you can find stuff like this under the 'recipes' forum too. I've done the same thing
Try this one.... It's kinda mild for me, but still has some reasonably good taste, but that's only my opinion. If you decide to brew it, you may think it sucks! ;D That's the great thing about this addiction, we all have our opinions, and we're all right!!  ::)

Style: Cream Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.81 gal
Post Boil Volume: 7.02 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.50 gal 
Bottling Volume: 5.21 gal
Estimated OG: 1.052 SG
Estimated Color: 3.4 SRM
Estimated IBU: 15.7 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 69.26 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 85.0 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes