• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Hefeweizen with Acid Rest and Decoction - Questions

philm63

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
OK, so I've done a few pretty successful all-grain brews with my new equipment and my numbers are looking good, so I think I'm ready to try something new; such as a Bavarian Hefeweizen complete with a Ferulic Acid rest and a single decoction. I've never tried this before and am looking for suggestions.

My plan thus far is to mash in at 111 F with about a 2 qt/pound water to grain ratio and let rest for about 20 minutes, then take a third of the thick mash and drop it into another pot and slowly bring that grain up to 150 F and let is sit there for about 30 minutes to convert, then bring it up to a boil and let it go (stirring constantly, of course) for about another 10 minutes or until just a hint of color develops - whichever comes first, then dump it back into my tun with the hope of hitting my sacc temp of 154 F.

If I hit my temp before all the hot grain goes in, I'll just add some cold water- conversely; if it all goes in and I'm still too cold, I'll add some boiling water. Let rest at 154 F for another 30 minutes then sparge as usual, albeit much more slowly so as to avoid a stuck sparge (almost 60% wheat malt).

90 minute boil, hops at 60 minutes, cool to 64 F, good healthy pitch, ferment at 64 - 65 F, looking for good balance between clove and banana and a not too sweet malty body. Target OG is 1.048, IBUs are just over 14, BU:GU is just under 300.

Does this make sense? Am I overlooking something? All comments are appreciated, of course.