• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Methods of Calibrating Mash?

B

blurry6

Hey guys!

I'm new to Beersmith and while I was attracted to the toolset, I'm getting frustrated as all get out :mad:. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations, or an easy method of dialing in Beersmith's various mash/equipment/strike/Infusion settings in order for Beersmith to 'accurately' predict  strike & mash temps with my system,...other than trial and error during brewday - been there, done that, not pretty? I was tinkering about with the idea of doing some mash-in-temp-tests using small water quantites and independent of using any actual grain in order to dial in the accuracy , etc. I figure there's got to be an equasion somewhere that will numerically quantify 'my system' based on its ability (or lack thereof) to hold temp, drop temp, or some-such factor, that when measured over time will spit out a constant that will allow brewsmith to accurately predict how my system will behave and react accordingly.

I tried various methods or using Beersmith's recommendations for strike temp with small 2-qt volumes and no grain, but the calculations were WAY off from reality no matter how I dialed them. so I'm led to believe that this particular method is futile.

Ideally, I'd like to take an afternoon to boil, measure, adjust, etc. and dial in a tight profile for my system,...Anyone have any ideas on how this can be done? If so, PLEASE let me know and if it's good, it should be made a sticky here on the forum. Thanks!

Ryan

Ryan,

Once I put in all the information for my system correctly I had no problem with stike temps or anything else.

Make sure you have the right mash tun size, dead space......

Don

Ryan,