• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Chocolate Milk Stout recipe suggestions

ashman

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello there, I'm relatively new to the homebrew scene but I've jumped right in.  I want to try a partial mash recipe as I don't quite have the necessary setup for an all-grain batch right now.  I'm looking to make a chocolate milk stout, with more than a hint of chocolate flavor and the lactose added. 

Anyway, here's what I'm thinking after doing some research, I didn't find a recipe that I liked so I compared several and came up with this.  Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Grains:

1 lb crystal malt 80-120
.75 lb chocolate malt
1 lb roasted barley
.25 lb black patent

Extracts:

7 lbs light lme (or dme, open to suggestions)

Hops:

1-2 oz cascade (open to suggestions here too, want an IBU between 20-30)

Extras:

1 lb lactose
6 oz chocolate bar, wanting to use 2 77% Chocolove bars (or cocoa powder)

Thinking a 60 minute boil with half the hops at boil and the other half as finishing, with the lactose and chocolate added between 30 and 15 left.  I want to slowly dissolve the chocolate so it doesn't burn on the bottom.  I also want it to be 6-7% ABV so I am also looking for some suggestions as to adjusting the extracts.  I also chose Chocolove because this is a favorite of my girlfriend who I am attempting this beer for, and also because it has a short list of ingredients, 4 to be exact.  As I said earlier, any suggestions would be appreciated!

A full pound of roasted barley may be a little strong. 

BS2 will calculate the OG, but you may need more DME to hit 6.5% ABV. 

I've never added chocolate before, but if you use bars, I'd use a micro zesting gadget to get it as fine as possible, and boil it for as little time as needed to dissolve it.