• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Irish Red Ale need help

mjbell

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm new to brewing, I've finished my first Red Ale and a Pale Ale and both were good, but lacked something on the finish.  The recipe is from a kit 145 form More Beer. 
1 lb Crystal 120L
8 oz Abbey8 oz Caramunich

Well my first post seems to have had problems getting out, so here it is again.

I'm new to brewing, I've finished my first Irish Red Ale and a Pale Ale and both were good, but lacked something on the finish.  The recipe is from Kit 145 from More Beer.  I told the folks at More Beer about my desire to increase the maltiness in the next batch and they suggested 1 lb of DME.

Irish Red, Mark2
1 lb Crystal 120L
8 oz Abbey8 oz Caramunich
2 oz Black Roasted
2 oz Special B
7 lb Ultralight Malt Extract
1 lb DME *
*Suggested by More Beer
Hops
1.5 oz Northern Brewer in boil
.5 oz Willamett Last minute of boil
OG 1.056
FG 1.014

I added the DME and brewed as I had before.  Fermentation began normally, but was very active, even violent.  I tasted the wert as I transferred it to the clarification carboy and it still didn't have the malty breadiness I am looking for.  I guess the DME just fermented out and made more alcohol.  Do I need something else, perhaps maltose to give me some unfermentable sugars or a yeast with a lower attenuation.
What do you think?
Thanks
MB

It sounds like you know more about it than the guy selling the stuff.

What yeast did you use? try s04 or wlp002 (less attenuating like you said).

Which malt extract did you use? perhaps try the maris otter brand. Or even mix in a little munich syrup.

Are you partial mashing yet? this chart says bisuit malt doesn't need to be mashed:
http://www.beersmith.com/Grains/Grains/GrainList.htm