• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

BeerSmith Newbie

mgtenn

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello fellow brewers,
I'm new to BeerSmith and have started brewing again after a 14-year hiatus.  I stopped brewing when I moved to Seattle  ;)  I've been living in Ala-freaking-Bama since '07 and I'm missing the beers I've become accustomed to.  I've got a Brew Tree setup that I bought when I knew I was leaving the Northwest and I'm brewing all-grain.  Alabama finally made it legal to homebrew this year  :)After a rough start, shaking off the rust and cobwebs and dumping some nasty tasting concoctions I'm starting to feel better about my beers.  It's become an obsession now.  I bottled a Porter last week, need to bottle an ESB today and have a Winter Ale in the primary. I'd be happy to hear some input on the accuracy in the calculations in the BeerSmith recipe design program as I've had some issues over the past year with OG, FG and ABV with other programs.
Thanks.

IMO, the formulas inside BS2 and other softwares are likely very similar, if not identical.  Some things could be more intuitive in BS2, as it was a major upgrade from v1.4, and again, IMO, some of the basic utility got buried behind some degree of "feature overload" that some beginners have difficulty working through. 

Since you've brewed before, you may not have those learning-curve issues as much as someone learning AG as well as learning brewing software. 

But once you set up your Equipment Profile with accurate volumes and any repeatable losses, the software does the math and predicts the basic targets very well. 

There's decent help screens, some how-to videos on the site, and this forum to get answers. 

MaltLicker said: