• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Russian Imperial PB Milk Stout Recipe

jterry16

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm planning on making my first milk stout.  This is a rough draft of a recipe I'm playing with.  I realize I need to tinker some more, but would love some input.  Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Russian Imperial PB Stout Recipe V 1.1.bsmx
    26.3 KB · Views: 218
I have no direct experience with stouts this big, but these points come to mind:

2.5 pounds of dark-roasted grains over 300 Lovibond is a lot.  Enough to be bone dry / roasty astringent?

Recipe has the oats of an oatmeal stout and lactose of milk stout.  And peanut butter.  If the core recipe is already known to you, then at least you know the baseline, but you did say you wanted a milk stout.  The oats and PB and ABV% will take this away from milk stout area. 

The IBU range for RIS is 50 to 90, and the gravity here is on the high end, so you'd typically want IBUs on the high end, and Tinseth is generally considered more accurate, so IBUs may be low for the recipe.  Especially with the added creamy and sweetener ingredients. 

Interestingly, Tinseth says 41 IBU and Rager says 58 IBU.  Most magazines cite Rager in recipes, so this is a good example of how copying a printed recipe can end up very different in BeerSmith, since BS2 defaults to Tinseth. 

Perhaps a little insight into my goals so the semantics of judging classifications aren't getting in the way.  At the end of the day, call it what you may, but I'd like a higher ABV stout that has the texture and creaminess of a milk stout (hence the lactose) and the flavor of a peanut butter stout.  With that said, I chose to call it this, but I could be wrong in doing so.  However those are the three things I was trying to attain in this recipe.