• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Bittering units in Beersmith

WM7793

Brewer
Reaction score
I have been given a recipe and would like some clarification regarding setting up beersmith, (I am new to the software.)

Start of boil 20 bittering units of challenger
10mins from end 30g per 20litre goldings or fuggles
1min from end 30g per 20litre - as above.

Ferment on WLP002 or WLP004

Once fermented hop with another 30g of the above.

Question: I can easily set up the IBU's to give me the 20 IBU's setting, but how do I set the system up, as there are additional hops in the recipe? When I add these additional hops it obviously changes the IBU.

What would I need to do within Beersmith to allow a setting of the "20 bittering units of challenger".

Best regards,
WM7793

There is probably a good reason that the recipe calls for bittering units, instead of hops by the ounce at your 60 minute boil for challenger.

The challenger probably will be the predominate bittering hop for that particular recipe.  Since each particular hop variety will have a range of alpha acids for any given years growing season and location of the farm, the alpha acid level will be different from one package to the next.  I've noticed sometimes that I'll even get two different manufacturers hops of the same variety with different alpha acid levels during the same homebrew store shopping excursion.

The recipe designer probably felt that the amount of bittering in this particular recipe was critical to the final product and gave the challenger bittering hops as bittering units, to make sure that the bitterness was spot on.