• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Hi, New here

Okohme

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am brand new to brewing.  I just got a Mr. Beer kit for Christmas and  am excited to start making beer for people.  I'm not actually a fan of beer myself, but I like making things for people and what makes a better present than beer, right? Anyway, I know the Mr. Beer thing is not the best system, but I figured it was an inexpensive way to learn some basic skills before I see if I really have what it takes to make something really good.  Anyway, I just thought that I would say hey and see if anyone had some advice or tips to offer me as I am getting started.

Welcome to the forum and to brewing.  I would suggest you get John Palmer's book, "How To Brew" and read it through before making your first beer.  Kit beers come with very rudimentary instructions.  By reading through How to Brew, you'll avoid pitfalls and have a lot of your questions answered up front.

I also have a feeling you'll begin to develop a taste for beer. 

When you do have a beer, do you usually have the "mass produced" beers from Budweiser, Coors, Miller, etc.?  If that is what you're used to, you will probably find out that there is an entire world of flavors out there that you're aren't used to. 

If you already drink the occasional craft or microbrewed beer, then you are already aware that there is a world of flavors to explore.  For example, I make a beer using tootsie rolls that has a mellow chocolatey bourbon character to it that my friends love. 

Please don't be afraid to ask questions.  Sharing information back and forth is why we're all on here.

I'm not actually a fan of beer myself, but I like making things for people and what makes a better present than beer, right?