• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

How to salvage a batch with unconverted starch

capo

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am new to all grain brewing. I did a smash beer for my first AG brew. I noticed that my 1.048 brew worked quickly then stopped at 1.015, going no further. The batch is extremely cloudy. I discovered that my mash temperature probe was reading several degrees low, and likely mashed at too high a temperature. My suspicion is that I have a lot of unconverted starch. Can my batch be saved?

I was thinking of using finings to try to clear it, and possibly pitch some more yeast (is this required?) during bottling to carbonate it. Will this work, or has anyone a better idea to save this batch? Should I just put this one under "lessons learned" and toss it?

Thanks for any replies.

I would not dump it. 1.015 is not that bad. mine go down to .008 but I'm not sure if 1.015 would be bad at all. as a mater of fact I have been thinking of trying to mash at a higher temp to do just what you have done.
how long has it been fermenting? what yeast did you use? what's the temps during fermentation? with this info we can better help. 

I have to admit, I do not know if the cloudy issues is because of the mash. I know that I get cloudy beer only when using wheat. after 4 weeks I would not think the yeast are making it cloudy.
As for checking if there is enough yeast for bottle conditioning,  what I have done before is to take a sample, about 2 or 3 oz.'s and put it in the fridge for 8 hr.'s  . then if there is yeast on the bottom of the sample it should be ok the bottle condition. well I hope someone else can tell us about the cloudy issues, and if it is from high mash temps.     

If it tastes worth drinking, then package/carb and enjoy it.