• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Brewsmith Steam Ale Recipe: WLP810 experience? Please help!!!

Negferret

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi,

It's my first time using WLP810 San Francisco Common, and I'm not sure if I'm on the right track. Any help would be appreciated.

I've brewed a Steam Ale recipe from Brewsmith, and after four weeks the beer is still in the fermenter and still cloudy.

I started off at 15c for two weeks getting down to 1018. I tasted what I thought was diacetyl so performed a rest at 18c for 48 hours, I haven't done this before but it seemed to reduce the buttery flavour (or maybe I was imagining it!).

I then reduced the temp down to 10c and it's been there for the past two weeks. My sg is currently 1015.

I've now reduced to 5C as per the recipe in the hope that it'll clear out, but my hopes are quickly fading.  Has anyone else followed this recipe?

Thanks

What is your question / problem? 

Cloudy?
Off flavor?
Final Gravity?

Cheers!

Sorry, I am rambling with panic!  Haha

My problem is really the cloudyness, the off flavour could be in my mind due to the cloudyness.  I'm not too fussed about the gravity as I believe this is high due to a combination of overhitting my target OG and attenuation.

I have followed the fermentation temps given in the recipe, but having never brewed a Steam Ale before I don't know what should be happening.  I have taken note that the temps in the recipe fall below the recommended temps for the yeast.  But if I'm fermenting below the normal temps, shouldn't the yeast fall out of suspension leaving my beer clear anyway?

Sorry, I'm rambling again and not being precise with my problem.

Cheers.