• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Carbonation tool not intuitive

Veldy

Apprentice
Reaction score
I have been brewing for more than 25 years, but I haven't bottled a beer in over a decade.  I just decided to do so.  I opened up the carbonation tool and used 2.5 ounces of dextrose.  Well, looking at my recipe later I see it calls for 5 ounces.  Imagine my disappointment that my entire batch will be under carbonated. 

So, the 40 degree default means what?  Serving temp is all that's useful, so I'm rather confused by the keg or bottle storage temperature.  If for some reason it is supposed to be the conditioning temp then 40 degrees is a terrible default (all but the heartiest of lager yeasts are dormant at 40 degrees).

Please advise.  I think this tool could use an update.

Attachments

• image.png
    image.png
    161.6 KB · Views: 381
Answered the reason this makes sense on HBT. 

As for the 40F being the default, that is around temperature that a lot of people cold crash their carboys.  As with most of the stock profiles and tools on BeerSmith, they are there to give you a starting point to design your own.  As the user, it is up to you to alter them to fit your system.  Once you have moved the beer temperature to your bottling temp, the program will retain your set value the next time you open up the tool. 

As for not being intuitive, where is the number supposed to come from?  This is a stand alone tool within BeerSmith and not tied to any specific recipe.  Unfortunately, software has not (yet) advanced to the level of reading minds <g>.