• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Dry Irish Stout

Roosterbrews

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi Brewer's, I am fairly new to all grain brewing with only 3 brews under my belt so far. I am thinking about brewing BeerSmith Dry Irish Stout but I have a few Questions to ask before I start. Firstly I live in the UK and my local Home Brew shop only keeps Safale yeast's so can I substitute Wyeast Lab Irish Ale 1084 yeast  for Safale S- 04 English Ale yeast and still get a good result, I bottle my beer so it will be bottle conditioned?
Also I brew in small Quantities to end up with 16 x 500mls bottles so can I mash out by just raising the mash temp without adding  extra  water? or may be not mash out at all. Thanks Guys any help is appreciated.

Wyeast 1084 is a good choice. The last Dry Stout I did I used White Labs WLP004 Irish Ale. I think they are pretty much interchangeable.

You can use safale S-04.  It will turn out fine. I like the S-04, it flocculates out nice and tight on the bottle bottoms when you bottle condition.

You can't go wrong with Safale S-04. I've used it many times. It's an excellent yeast and should be perfect for your stout. It was originally a Whitbread strain and the same as Wyeast 1099. My personal favorite, White labs WLP007, is a different Whitbread strain and attenuates more to produce a dryer beer.