Author Topic: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?  (Read 14160 times)

Offline davidrobertsnz1

  • BeerSmith Apprentice Brewer
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« on: January 25, 2018, 02:06:35 PM »
Hi there - I'm a new Robobrew user and while I've got the Grainfather Equipment profile set in Beersmith (which I understand is also appropriate for Robobrew) I'm struggling to figure out which Mash profile I should be using - any advice please?
Cheers!
David
Fred's NZPale Ale - drinking now
Re-balanced IPA - conditioning
Lucknow IPA Clone - next to brew

Offline Ck27

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
  • BeerSmith's Unofficial Spam Police.... Do Not Spam
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 02:28:31 PM »
Hi there - I'm a new Robobrew user and while I've got the Grainfather Equipment profile set in Beersmith (which I understand is also appropriate for Robobrew) I'm struggling to figure out which Mash profile I should be using - any advice please?
Cheers!
David

Ive got a few let me post them

Offline Ck27

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
  • BeerSmith's Unofficial Spam Police.... Do Not Spam
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 02:41:32 PM »
heres equipment

Offline biggerk

  • BeerSmith New Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 10:29:11 PM »
So (embarrassingly) I can't figure how to import this equipment profile....Where do I put the file or how to I import it.  I can see it, I can open it, but I can't seem to select it in the equipment profile in a recipe.  Thanks in advance.
 

Offline Ck27

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
  • BeerSmith's Unofficial Spam Police.... Do Not Spam
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2018, 01:54:59 AM »
So (embarrassingly) I can't figure how to import this equipment profile....Where do I put the file or how to I import it.  I can see it, I can open it, but I can't seem to select it in the equipment profile in a recipe.  Thanks in advance.

umm, I'm pretty sure you just open it and then you can click save??? I haven't done it in a while. But profile is great for robobrew and the grainfather, its really accurate as well further testing has gotten me pretty much right on the money.

Offline brewfun

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2300
  • Malt dust is just alcohol's glitter
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2018, 07:53:59 AM »
So (embarrassingly) I can't figure how to import this equipment profile....Where do I put the file or how to I import it.  I can see it, I can open it, but I can't seem to select it in the equipment profile in a recipe.  Thanks in advance.

You simply copy/paste from the new tab into the equipment profiles tab. Once it's listed in there, you should see it as a selection within a recipe.
Beer Appreciation is the space between pints.

Offline biggerk

  • BeerSmith New Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2018, 07:08:43 PM »
So (embarrassingly) I can't figure how to import this equipment profile....Where do I put the file or how to I import it.  I can see it, I can open it, but I can't seem to select it in the equipment profile in a recipe.  Thanks in advance.

You simply copy/paste from the new tab into the equipment profiles tab. Once it's listed in there, you should see it as a selection within a recipe.

Perfect!  The copy/paste technique is what worked.  Open the  newequipment.bsmx profile in a tab.  Open the equipment list into a tab.  Select the Icon for the new equipment, right-click "copy".  Go into the Equipment tab, right-click "Paste".

I would've thought clicking "save" would've work but it didn't.

Offline Ck27

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
  • BeerSmith's Unofficial Spam Police.... Do Not Spam
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2018, 09:11:19 PM »
So (embarrassingly) I can't figure how to import this equipment profile....Where do I put the file or how to I import it.  I can see it, I can open it, but I can't seem to select it in the equipment profile in a recipe.  Thanks in advance.

You simply copy/paste from the new tab into the equipment profiles tab. Once it's listed in there, you should see it as a selection within a recipe.

Perfect!  The copy/paste technique is what worked.  Open the  newequipment.bsmx profile in a tab.  Open the equipment list into a tab.  Select the Icon for the new equipment, right-click "copy".  Go into the Equipment tab, right-click "Paste".

I would've thought clicking "save" would've work but it didn't.

Good, glad you got it in :) keep us updated on your brews, I like hearing what other guys with robobrews are making.

Offline Linoleum

  • BeerSmith New Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2018, 07:56:45 AM »
The "mash profile" file and the equipment profile appear to be the same thing. Was the first post supposed to have a mash profile in it?

Offline Ck27

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
  • BeerSmith's Unofficial Spam Police.... Do Not Spam
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2018, 03:04:21 PM »
The "mash profile" file and the equipment profile appear to be the same thing. Was the first post supposed to have a mash profile in it?

Woops sorry, I might have accidentally messed up. Let me check it out.

Offline iggy4mayor

  • BeerSmith New Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2018, 07:08:42 AM »
The "mash profile" file and the equipment profile appear to be the same thing. Was the first post supposed to have a mash profile in it?

Woops sorry, I might have accidentally messed up. Let me check it out.

any update on uploading the mash profile?

Offline Kevin58

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • God is great, beer is good and people are crazy
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2018, 12:38:19 PM »
There is really no substitute for creating your own profiles. It is highly recommended that you do in order to get accurate results. Even if someone else has the same system you have, yours will not produce exactly the same results. Here are a couple of video tutorials to customize your profiles. One for Equipment and the other for a mash profile.

Equipment Profile: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmW7pwQP5mQ
BIAB Mash Profile: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKiEjhxo2oo

(note: they also have a different mash profile set up for batch sparging)
If you?re stressing over homebrewing, you?re doing something wrong.
- Denny Conn

Offline shinobi9

  • BeerSmith Apprentice Brewer
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • When he drinks, we all drink!
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2018, 02:02:26 PM »
Not sure if these are different, but here is what I found on the distributors site (for the v3)

http://kegland.com.au/media/pdf/RoboBrew%20Gen%203%20-%20BeerSmith2%20Profile%20-%20KegLand.bsmx

(the link is on this page - https://www.kegland.com.au/robobrew-35l-gen-3.html)


Offline Ck27

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
  • BeerSmith's Unofficial Spam Police.... Do Not Spam
Re: Mash profile for Robobrew/Grainfather?
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2018, 12:02:42 AM »
There is really no substitute for creating your own profiles. It is highly recommended that you do in order to get accurate results. Even if someone else has the same system you have, yours will not produce exactly the same results. Here are a couple of video tutorials to customize your profiles. One for Equipment and the other for a mash profile.

Equipment Profile: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmW7pwQP5mQ
BIAB Mash Profile: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKiEjhxo2oo

(note: they also have a different mash profile set up for batch sparging)

that's partially true, but you will get 98% the same as anyone else using the same system.


I can upload what im using right now. For those that want it. I have a profile for v2 and v3 as I have both units right now.

 

modification