• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Bottling from a Cornelius Keg using a Blichmann Beer-Gun

P

Paul Bessell

I'm from England, and moved to Colorado just over a year ago. We don't use metal kegs, corn sugar or "beer-guns" in the UK so much, so I'm new to these items, and have a couple of questions that I'm hoping someone can answer.

1. If I have carbonated my beer in a Cornelius keg to 30 PSI over (say) a couple of days, I then release the pressure from the keg, connect a "Beer-Gun" to the keg, then raise the pressure in the keg to around 3 PSI and fill a bottle and cap it, will I get a reasonable head on the beer when I open it, or is it likely to be under/over-carbonated?

2. I recently brewed some bitter that had undergone secondary fermentation in Cornelius kegs, which I'd then primed with about 5 oz corn sugar per 5 gallon keg, and bottled using a beer-gun. When I opened the bottles after a month, they were nearly all 'gushers'. I'm fairly certain that the beer had completed fermentation before being bottled, and am assuming that I over-primed the kegs. If so, bearing in mind that the beer is full-mash (all-grain), and will have some slow-fermenting dextrins in that should produce CO2, how much corn sugar would be the correct amount to add?

3. I've just started a Belgian-style 'dubbel' which I'd like to eventually bottle. Instead of merely priming the bottles with corn sugar, I'd like first to filter the beer beforehand, then add some fresh yeast and some form of sugar (other than corn sugar). Any idea how much yeast I would need to add to a 5-gallon keg before bottling, and what type of sugar would be most suitable?