• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Variations in IBU

topremf

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to this brewing business and a novice with BeerSmith, although have completed about ten batches and notice that the recipes from outside of BeerSmith (such as Brew Magazine) have significant IBU variations when added to BeerSmith, when all else is seemingly equal.  Is there something I'm not understanding?  This is also true of most SRM.

I totally agree with you. I was reading that there's actually a point where you simply can't add any more IBU's ... much like the point of absorbsion of sugar to iced tea. I'm experimenting with my last batch by just tossing hops into the boil vs muslin pouches or stainless steel balls (like tea strainers). I think Beersmith helps a great deal by illustrating what IBU's you "should" be getting. The reality, I think, is how the hop additions are conducted. Right now, I've got some nasty-looking stuff at the top and bottom of my fermenter. I'm looking forward to racking it off ... carefully! My plan is to condition in the fermenter for a total of three weeks, then stick the carboy in the fridge for a few days to see if I can get most of the "undesirables" to settle to the bottom.

Remember, all values are estimates from complex calculations.  BeerSmith takes into account everything from your brew equipment, to temperature, to the type of ingredient and everything in between.  For instance, IBU calculation can very depending on the efficiency/gravity, type of hop, AAU value and boil time based on your equipment profile, just for example.  I know brewers that have switched to always just adding the same amount of hops to the batch and not paying any attention to the AAU.