• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Volume losses and low efficiency

ajdonovan5

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey all! New to the forum, but have been using BeerSmith since I started brewing in January of 2018. I'm currently on Batch #11 I think. Here is my brewing setup:

Igloo 10gal mash tun with AIH false bottom, 15gal boil keggle with NorCal false bottom and whirpool arm, chugger pump w/ hoses/camlocks, 1/2" x 50ft immersion chiller, Hellfire burner

A friend of mine set up the equipment profile in BeerSmith since he used to have the same setup. I currently pre heat the igloo tun using ~120F hot water heater water, heat up strike water then dough in. It took me a while to get my temp losses sorted out, but I have that under control at this point. Mash profile is always single infusion batch sparge. Batch size is 5.5 gal for corny kegs.

Most of the batches that I have done have had low pre boil volumes. I noticed one day that when you open/print the 'Brew Steps' section, it says to add top up water, despite having that unchecked in the software profile. That could account for my volume losses, but at the same time, my ABV and numbers would be different correct? To achieve ~6 gal into the fermentor I'd assume I'd need ~7-7.5gal pre boil.

In the research that I have done I've seen a few topics that have noted to ensure the mash profile has the proper water to grain ratio....typically 1.25 qt/lb. I will check that when I get home.

Something, or multiple things are wrong, and I am going nuts trying to figure it out. Any help is appreciated. Cheers!